Aside

**I started this blog last year in hopes that I would actually keep up with it. Well, I failed. So here is my new ditch effort attempt since I will be having some interesting changes happening in my life in the next few months. So here is a little background about me and how I ended up where I am now. Nothing too “deep” and most of it will be pretty amusing as I figure this town and this military life out. **

Since last July I have been thrown into the “deep end” of military life. For the past year and a half I have been dating a high school sweetheart who incidentally has been enlisted in the Army since 2003. Our entire relationship up until last July had been long distance. He was in Michigan on recruiting duty (let me tell you that was not fun for him nor I) and I lived in Florida. March of last year rolled around and he PCS’d (Permanent Change of Station) back to Ft. Bragg, NC. The move made our lives a little easier. Instead of one of us having to fly back and forth, we could drive now. The first time I drove to North Carolina I was so proud of myself. It was the first time I had ever driven that far and out of state all by myself. Driving back on the other hand was miserable. We had just reached a critical point in our relationship. I was going to have to move up or we needed to move on.

There have been many difficult decisions I have already had to make in regards to my life. Some I did understand, others I didn’t understand, and some where I had to just cut and run whether any parties understood. To say I have had a life of normalcy would be so far from the truth. Until I started dating Pat nothing was stable in my life. My personal life was so far downhill (much to my own doing), my family life was barely hanging on, and my work life well that was the “straw” as some would say that made everything crash. Let’s just say after these past 3 years I have been pulling more white hairs out of my 26 year old head then I think is necessary…

So I made my cut and run decision. It wasn’t easy. I had this twitchy eye thing going on for about 3 months before I actually got up enough nerve to tell my family I was moving. Their only adopted only child was moving 3 states away when she had never lived more then 12 miles from her parents. Of course after I told them the twitch vanished as well as most of my stress. It was time for me to leave. Time for me to see what was beyond the life familiarity.

July rolled around, I rolled out of Florida, and headed to the military town of Fayetteville, North Carolina. Moving here was a bit of a shock. My cell phone hardly would worked where we  lived. The nearest Starbucks was 30 minutes away. And when people say it’s a 60 minute drive it’s because you are literally driving 60 miles or more.

When I first got here I was a bit under a misguided understanding of life in the military. At the time I wasn’t working and Pat would be home every night around 5 or 6. It seemed just like a normal job. Until field training started…it all changed. Pat would be gone for 4 to 5 days at a time, and there I was sitting and home basically staring at the cat. There were only so many “Wal-Mart” runs I could make during the day and I felt like they were starting to recognize me.

July, August, September pretty much came and went and I was desperately trying to find a job. I do not sit well. I do not sit well at all. I was on what felt like a weekend that never ended. I was starting to creep closer to October and that was the part I was dreading the most. October only meant one thing for me…JRTC. Without going into Army lingo it is a month long training course that takes place in Louisiana, and it was Pat’s turn to go. He was going to leave and I was going to be here hardly knowing a soul. Then success, I got a job. I could not have asked for better timing. He was going to be gone, but at least I would have something to fill my day.

A little background….

Leave a Reply

