“Forgetting” Your Spouse.

Standard

As much as I like to keep things “light” and fun on this blog, this issue has weighed heavily on my heart for two days.

Yesterday, I logged on to Facebook to see that one of my friends had posted a story that frankly I had a hard time believing to be true. To view the story I saw yesterday click here. Rarely will you see me discussing things religious people say on TV or in print. There are several reasons but mainly I just am not the biggest fan of televangelism. But like I said, that is just my take on it and doesn’t mean everyone agrees.

Over the years, Pat Robertson has been known for saying some pretty “out there things.” Just last year he was cited for saying that the “Haitians made a pact with the Devil thus being cursed thru the earthquake.” Look, everyone has a right to free speech and I get that. The problem with this kind of “free speech” is that because it is so visible it makes Christians as a whole look like a bunch of nut balls. On his September 13th show Pat Robertson had this to say and it has really caused a ruckus in the secular and Christian world alike.

The wife’s body does not belong to her alone but also to her husband. In the same way, the husband’s body does not belong to him alone but also to his wife. -1 Corinthians 7:4

If you didn’t view any of the links I attached so far the gist of Pat Robertson’s latest issue is that he was telling a viewer not to “guilt someone for wanting to divorce their spouse who has Alzheimer’s and that is would be understandable to divorce someone with the disease.” Alright, Pat you and I need to have a pow wow.

First off, this issue is VERY personal to me. My grandmother suffered from dementia. Sorry if you are reading this, Mom. Not trying to upset you but I have some points to make and you know how I like to argue. (Side note: she is always telling me I should have been an attorney.) I watched for several years as my mother took care of her. I saw how hard it was when Grandma started to not remember us. It started off with me first. She would call me “Ruby” which was a cousin of hers. I just think she would see my red hair and associate the two. On a happier note, anytime my mother brought my dog to visit she knew Sadie Rose right away. All in all it was very hard on my mother, but my grandmother was one very lucky lady to have her child care so much about her welfare. So, Mr. Robertson are you saying a child can “divorce” their parent if it is them in this situation?

After I started getting over my initial shock and awe of what Pat Robertson had said I started to think about this from more of a Christian’s point of view. Try and follow me here.

I will betroth you to me forever; I will betroth you in righteousness and justice, in love and compassion. I will betroth you in faithfulness, and you will acknowledge the Lord. (Hosea 2:19-20, God speaking to his people)

In this verse, the Lord is speaking about us being betrothed to Him. Now, for those who have grown up in the church this isn’t a new concept. You hear quite frequently about the Church being the Bride of Christ especially in Revelation. Ask yourself and be honest, how often have you “forgotten” Christ? If we were to be very honest I think most of us could say that this is a daily struggle. Our own spiritual “Alzheimer’s” if you will. I can’t tell you the countless times I have heard Christians say how easy it was to “forget” Christ when everything in their life was going well. It wasn’t till things went downhill did they “remember” their Savior. And I can put myself right in that boat. I am not any better.

HALLELUJAH!  That our Savior doesn’t “divorce” us after He has taken such good care of us even when we have forgotten Him. I can not fathom the struggles He goes through with us on a daily basis. The earthly years he has invested in each one of us. Constantly making sure each one of our needs are met. The days where He walks into a room and us not even realize He is there. He has never given up on us. In fact, He fights for us on a daily basis.

So tell me, Mr. Robertson would you condone Christ divorcing us based on our “Alzheimer’s”? It was almost like Robertson was condoning to giving up on the person that you promised before God to love for better or worse. So here is a “worse” time and all of a sudden it is acceptable to cut and run? I had mentioned earlier today on Facebook that I would be FURIOUS at one of my parents if they did this. What kind of lesson is that to your children? In a world where “cutting and running” is so highly acceptable these days don’t you think we should make a stand even stronger to the promises that we made before God?

For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.  – Romans 8:38-39

If this is the love we know we can count on from our Lord then why can’t we offer the same love to our God-given spouse?

2 responses »

  1. Well written!! This is such a frustrating man! Apparently he “forgot” the “in sickness and in health” part of most marriage vows.

Leave a Reply

