Is it REALLY the most wonderful time of the year?

Standard

I am sure everyone has different views of the holiday season. Over the last couple of years though I have started to realize the older I get the less enjoyable and more stressful this season gets.  You are probably sitting there wondering why the heck is she talking about December 25th and it is September 20th? Well, let me break it down this way. I only have 8 more paychecks till this blessed holiday arrives and I need start shopping NOW!

For the most part I am a pretty good gift giver. I really live to give something that is specific to each person. I have already come up with a couple good ideas but then there are those people who for the life of me I don’t know what to give them. Then there is me. Pat loathes this time of year in regards to me. I am the worst person to buy gifts for. If you ask me what I want for Christmas this is the reaction you will see…

I never have a clue and then when I do give an answer it sounds like the most boring gift ever. Last year I asked for a steam mop. You know why? Because it was something that I really wanted and would never go out and buy for myself. Pat fought me tooth and nail on that stupid steam mop but I finally got it.

This year though I think things should be a little easier. Why? Two words…wedding registry. I just figure I will divert everyone to those. Makes sense to me. I have taken the time to point and click on things I would like for the house. Frankly, I would rather someone buy me something nice for the house then for me specifically. Sheesh, I sound old.

I am also making an effort to decorate the house this year for the different seasons. Last year was kind of sad. Pat was so involved with stuff at work and wasn’t given block leave over the holidays I didn’t even decorate the house. Trying to get some nice ideas for the house. I also need to make a trek down to Florida to get my ornaments and items for the tree. Course I am petrified with any breakable items and Urban being in the same room.

I have a mantle this year to decorate to that is kind of exciting. I do need stockings though for our family. I came across these in last year’s Family Circle magazine and this is what I want to do.

If you click here they have so many ways to use felt over the holidays and I am ready to go. I may have to tone the colors down a bit for Pat’s stocking but I still think these are super cute.

6 responses »

  1. Ugh, I didn’t decorate last year either! I felt sooo guilty! But we were so busy and we spent most of our Christmas break in Alabama and Marco Island so it would have been a lot of unpacking and packing decorations for about 4 days of enjoyment. This year, even though we’ll be gone again, I’ve sworn to myself that I’ll do at least SOME decorating.

  2. Hey, this is Jen from Life of an Army Wife Abroad. Just wanted to say that your blog is super cute! I like the way you write about things. Also, thanks for referring me from your blog. How did you find me? Are you PCSing here soon or something?

    • Hey, Jen. I was thrilled to find your blog. Not sure how I came about it. I believe it was through the PCS Italy blog. We are on track to PCS there in Jan-Feb. I was trying to give my folks as much information about Vicenza so I was Googling everything I could think of and they now follow your posts. Been a big help. Thanks!

  3. I didn’t decorate last year either. I was 7 months prego and not in the mood to put everything out and then put everything away. I have to decorate this year though. since it’ll be Gavin’s first Christmas! Thanks for giving me the link to your blog, I plan on following it. I love those stockings, can’t wait to see a picture of the finished product. Love to you and Pat!

Leave a Reply

