In loving memory…

Standard

FAYETTEVILLE, NC – Our little remote came in to our lives August 2nd of 2010. It was amazing what joy a little device could bring into one’s life. After moving to North Carolina in July of last year I did not have cable or internet for a month. Normally, I would say this should not be considered a “trial or tribulation” but not having a job and sitting at home all day was really starting to get on my nerves. There were only so many movies in the house that I cared to watch (some for the 100th time already).

And then the day that this little device was lovingly placed in my hands. I knew then that I was going to be okay. I was given the chance to join the “living” once more. The days that I was sick in bed to the days that were spent in pure lazy bliss, this little device made it all possible. And then tragedy struck….

We had departed from the house on a Saturday afternoon. Our only plans for the day were to visit with our friends and their family who were visiting from out-of-town. They live just around the corner from us and we decided Urban would be fine left out of his crate. At some point in the afternoon Urban and Bedroom Remote must have really had a tussle. I can’t say for certain what happened. Maybe Urban got upset that the TV was on the Hallmark channel or that Bedroom Remote was in his spot on the bed. I just know that this was the ghastly scene that I came home to.

In loving memory of Bedroom Remote 08/02/10 – 10/08/11
You forever changed our lives, and will be sorely missed.

                                                                        

3 responses »

  1. oh my young friend. Let me tell you a story that takes place between when the dinosaurs roamed the earth and I was 21. Alas, there was no bedroom remote, but worse than that, there was no cable! I know, ghastly thought, right?

    I remember when cable came out – you plugged in the big box to the wall, connected another wire to your tv and the big box got dragged around the room because its wire was really, really long. There was a “slider” on the big box with the channel numbers and you slid the “slider” to the channel you wanted to watch and that was “remote control”.

    May your bedroom remote fly on the angels wings to that special place in heaven where there are no dogs allowed!

Leave a Reply

