“I snap you like a chicken!”

Standard

If you have ever seen My Big Fat Greek Weeding the title to this blog would make sense to you. I love that movie for so many reasons. Where I am from in Florida there is a town about 10 minutes down the road that is a pretty famous Greek community. The Sponge Docks, as they are known, is one of the world’s largest producers of sea sponges. Next time you see a sea sponge for sale and check to see if it is from Tarpon Springs. The Sponge Docks is where I got my very first job. I worked at this little private aquarium and it was a blast. I loved being down there. The Greek culture is a very proud culture and it is evident there, but above all I fell in love with the food. If you mention Saganaki, Spanakopita or Greek salad (it has to have potato salad in the middle though) to me and I feel my mouth start to water.

Since moving up here it has been very hard to find a decent Greek restaurant, and I find myself craving a Pappa’s Greek salad from time to time. I found the following recipe in a Family Circle magazine a couple months ago and tried it the other night! OPA! It was amazing and it even came out pretty too! Unfortunately, the picture I tried to take did not come out so I had to find one online, but it did look exactly like this. If you love spinach, feta and bacon try this. You won’t be disappointed!

Spinach Feta Chicken Breasts Wrapped in Bacon – recipe from Family Circle magazine

Ingredients

1 pkg (1o oz.) frozen chopped spinach,thawed
8 oz feta cheese
1/2 c lt. mayonnaise
1 clove garlic,finely chopped
6 thinly sliced boneless, skinless chicken breasts (about 4 oz. ea.)
1/2 tsp paprika
6 slices bacon

 

Directions

  1.     Heat oven to 325 degrees. Place rack in large baking pan.
  2.     Drain and squeeze liquid from spinach.
  3.     In medium bowl, combine spinach, feta, mayonnaise and garlic.
  4.     In batches, place chicken breast between sheets of waxed paper and pound to 1/8″ thickness
  5.     Lay a couple slices of bacon down and then the breasts on top.
  6.     Place about 3/4 c of filling down the center of each chicken breast. Roll up and secure each with 2 toothpicks.
  7.     Sprinkle with paprika.
  8.     Bake at 325 for 55-60 minutes or till chicken is done . Run under broiler for a minute or two if desired.
One response »

Leave a Reply

