Chili con Aubree

Standard

Yes, I know the title is a tad morbid, but it worked for me. The other day I was craving chili. We had gotten a pretty gnarly cold snap here and all it made you want to do was curl under a blanket and eat something warm. Now, for me to say I was craving chili means a lot. It’s never been a recipe that I would make on a continuous basis. With that being said I needed to find a recipe that would satisfy both Pat and myself. He isn’t the biggest veggies in recipes person, so I have to go about that differently. After a bit of hunting I landed on a Paula Deen recipe and another recipe from a site I can’t recall.

I had printed up the two recipes and then chose from each what I thought would mix well. I also did add Chorizo to the recipe. Cause, well, yum! Went over really well and highly recommend trying it.

So here is the recipe in proper “English”. I had to write down what I did cause I knew if I didn’t repeating it may be a bit of a challenge. I know it looks like this would have a lot of kick to it but it really was the perfect amount of heat to be a good bowl of chili. Of course you top it with diet food like shredded cheese and sour cream 😉

Chili con Aubree (yes, I am dubbing this after me)

1lb ground beef
1/2 tsp butter – Or more if you wanna make Paula proud.
1/2 white onion – I don’t like to be overloaded so add more if you like.
2 cans of light red kidney beans – Drain and rinse these please. That goop that is in the can is nasty.
1 1/2 can tomato sauce
2 tbsp chili powder – If you like is spicier go nuts with this.
1/4 tsp garlic salt
pinch of garlic powder – Course if Pat ruled the world this would be in everything.
pinch of sweet paprika – HIGHLY recommend buying from this company. The product is great!
Texas Pete Chipotle Hot Sauce – just so you know what to look for. I just use a bit.
1 bay leaf – Course Pat always asks “what’s with the leaf?”

Now, if you like chunks or bits of tomato in your chili add that as well. I just don’t like the texture so I leave them out. I just toss everything into the Dutch oven if I am making it that evening. Otherwise, make it in the morning and put in the crock pot on low till you get to it that evening. Enjoy!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

