The roasts of all roasts

Standard

For a number of year growing up as a kid Sunday was pot roast day. The family would all go to church in the morning then come home to the house smelling of mouth watering pot roast. By the time you got done eating you had just enough time to take a quick nap and get dressed to go back to church. Over the last few months I have tried to be due diligent about planning out my meals for the week. I find that it makes my life so much easier when I am not coming home and having to figure it out right then and there. It also greatly helps with my spending at the commissary because I only go for those specific items and don’t deviate off that list at all.

Since the crock pot has been slightly unused in my kitchen lately I decided to search for a amazing pot roast recipe using the slow cooker. I was also planning to have this meal on Valentine’s Day since it seemed a little more fancy. Course we could have eaten tun fish sandwiches and Pat would have been just fine with that too.

Crock Pot Pot Roast

Ingredient
  • 1 onion, sliced
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 (2 1/2 pound) boneless beef chuck roast
  • 1 (1.2 ounce) package dry beef gravy mix
  • 1 (1 ounce) package ranch dressing mix
  • 1 (.7 ounce) package dry Italian-style salad dressing mix
  • 1/2 cup water, or as needed
  • 5 whole peeled carrots (optional)
Method
  1. I seasoned the meat with about half the packets mixed together and wrapped the meat in plastic wrap and let it sit for about 2 days. I don’t know if it made a big difference, but it helped to prepare the meal quicker the morning of.
  2. Spray the inside of a slow cooker with cooking spray. Spread the onion slices out into the bottom of the cooker.
  3. Place the seasoned roast into the cooker on top of the onions. Whisk together beef gravy mix, ranch dressing mix, and Italian dressing mix in a bowl, and whisk the mixes with water until smooth. Pour over the chuck roast. Distribute carrots around the meat.
  4. Cover the cooker, set to Low, and cook until the roast is tender and the gravy has thickened, about 8 hours.
*I know it seems like next to no water going in, but it really does work out just fine.
*Another side note is I did put aluminum foil on top of the crock pot then placed the lid on that. It helps to seal in all the moisture from being able to escape.
*I will also try adding potatoes next time too.
4 responses »

  1. Okay, it seems like whenever I make a roast in the crock pot it always comes out too salty! I usually just stick a packet of french onion dip mix in it. Was yours on the too salty side at all? Maybe I need to add more water or something.

    • I didn’t think so and normally I can’t handle a lot of sodium. I did add a cup of water instead of a half. I just added some cornstarch to thicken up the liquid a bit for more of a gravy consistency before serving. I really think the aluminum foil on top then the lid helped a ton to not lose moisture and may have helped to be less salty.

Leave a Reply

