A fishy tale…

Standard

Well, I am not terribly proud to admit this especially being a native Floridian, but up until a few weeks ago I have never actually cooked a dish containing fish. Now for some people this may not sound like a big deal and definitely not something to be ashamed of. Being from Florida though this is kind of sad. IN MY DEFENSE (just trying to make a point) I am the only member in my family from Florida everyone else is from Michigan. And let’s be honest for a second. There is not an outdoorsy bone in any member of my family and I am including the aunts, uncles and cousins into this mix. To sum it up best my father will tell you his idea of camping is a “Hyatt without cable.” So you see I didn’t have a lot going for me in the cooking fish department.

Enter Sandra Lee and her Semi-Homemade magazine. Pat and I have gotten into this kick lately of spending Sunday mornings planning out our meals for the week and then going to the commissary for supplies. Sandra Lee’s magazine has this section where she does this and then give you the grocery list to follow. Now, granted there are just some recipes I just will not make. Especially, if mushrooms are involved. Fungus doesn’t go on my plate. Sorry that is just how I feel. So we improvise and either find something else in a cookbook our another magazine recipe.

Day Two of Sandra’s week is Tilapia with Parsley Lemon Mayonnaise. And the recipe is as follows…

Ingredients

1 cup mayonnaise
2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley
2 teaspoons lemon zest
3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
1 teaspoon salt, divided
3/4 teaspoon ground black pepper, divided
4 tilapia fillets
Garnish: grilled lemon slices*, chopped fresh parsley
Garlic Roasted Potatoes  – I highly recommend these!!!!


  1. In a small bowl, stir together mayonnaise, parsley, lemon zest, lemon juice, 1/4 teaspoon salt, and 1/4 teaspoon pepper. Cover and chill for at least 30 minutes, or up to 3 days.
  2. Spray grill rack with nonstick non flammable cooking spray. Preheat grill to medium-high heat (350° to 400°). Sprinkle both sides of fish with remaining 3/4 teaspoon salt and 1/2 teaspoon black pepper. Lightly spray fish with nonstick cooking spray.
  3. Grill fish, covered with grill lid, for 3 minutes on each side, or until fish flakes easily with a fork. Garnish with grilled lemon slices and chopped fresh parsley, if desired. Serve fish with mayonnaise mixture and Garlic Roasted Potatoes.
    *To grill lemon slices, grill for about 25 to 30 seconds on each side.
Alright, well the main hiccup in this recipe is I am pretty much “grill illiterate.” I basically look at that thing as a big contraption that takes up space on my patio but magically makes delicious burgers. New game plan. This is my take on this recipe and it actually worked really well.
  1. Follow this as written. I love this dip. May not be the healthiest thing ever but Paula Deen would be proud.
  2. Grab a cookie baking sheet and the aluminum foil. Depending on how many filets you have tear off sheets of foil big enough to “pouch” one filet once finished prepping.
  3. Lay the foil flat and spray with non stick cooking spray (Pam with butter is my favorite). Sprinkle your favorite seasoning on that. The first time I made this I used Old Bay. Lay the filet on top on that and then sprinkle again with seasoning. I slice up lemon and lay those on top.
  4. Pouch it up and make sure there are no openings.
  5. Once all the filets have been prepped place them on the cookie sheet and bake at 350 for about 12-15 minutes.
  6. After that time has passed I just keep checking them if they haven’t cooked to my liking.

If you are interested in her other weekly plans you can check them out here. Enjoy!

3 responses »

  1. I seriously LOVE this blog!!!!!! You crack me up every single day 🙂 I’m definitely going to try this recipe. I need to make more fish! I hear ya on the grilling thing. I’m pretty good with it once it’s started, but lighting a grill scares the CRAP out of me!

Leave a Reply

