Count Your Blessings

Standard

“Count your blessings name them one by one. Count your blessings see what God has done.”

If you are someone who knows me well , you would know that I absolutely love the Golden Girls. I have loved this show for just about as long as I can remember. Course as I am writing this I can see my father rolling his eyes and going “You know all the lines. Why do you still watch this show?”

There is one line from the show where Sofia is talking about blessings, “If I were a blessing I wouldn’t wear a disguise. I would run around naked.”

I love this line because seriously how much easier would it be to spot the blessings in our life? Why am I bringing this up now you ask? Well, currently I am writing this from my iPhone and laying in bed in a mass amount of pain. I had my wisdom teeth (3 to be exact) pulled this morning. I have a tube sock looking apparatus around my head stuffed with ice packs and a mouth full of gauze like I’m trying to do my best Marlon Brando impression. To add insult to injury the drugs aren’t doing a lot. Everyone keeps telling me I have the “good stuff” but the verdict is still out on that.

20111114-152743.jpg
Just so you could see too. The two lines in the front was where I knocked my teeth out and had to have root canals put in.

My sweet husband has no idea what to even do with me. He keeps walking in and all he sees is me crying from pain. I am not terribly emotional person by nature so I know this is throwing him off a bit. He is doing a great job though and for that I am thankful he is here.

Sitting here though I decided to write a bit. This is giving me a chance to focus on something else, which is precisely what I need to do. It has been ages since I have gotten on here and I have missed it terribly. I really have no idea who reads this, but I enjoy just throwing out randomness from my life.

But the bigger picture today is blessings. Sometimes to get to the blessing you must go through some pain. I know that after this pain subsides I will be so much better for it. Over the last few years I went through some incredible pain and if you would have told me “Just wait. It will get so much better.” I would have just rolled my eyes and walked away.

But things did get better. A lot better. My life was blessed in so many ways. I have a wonderful relationship with my parents (even though it’s a long distance one) I still talk to them nearly everyday. I have enjoyed getting to watch them and Pat interact as well. Whenever I am on the phone with mother he will yell in the background “hello, mother in law.”

I have a job that allows me to pay bills and a home to come to every evening. I live in a town (no matter how crappy at times) that takes pride in their troops and what they do.

Pat’s family is incredible. They have been some of the nicest most sincere people I have met. Some I have literally only met one time but treat me like I have known them my entire life.

I actually enjoy seeing and spending time with my mother in law. Pat’s bother and sister in law are some of the most genuine people and I love that. Pat’s sister is like the sister I never had. Pat would tell you when we were on the Keys we were like two peas in a pod.

I saved the best for last. Patrick coming back into my life was the best thing that ever happened to me. He is my best friend, my hero, a provider and a constant joy in my life. We will be having a small wedding ceremony next week during Thanksgiving break and I am so excited and even nervous. Not a bad nervous but just a giddy bride who will be saying her I dos to the one she loves. Not to mention I have an amazing “perfect for me” dress that I can’t wait to have him see me in.

I think if you didn’t know Pat and I you may think our relationship is pretty dull at times. There are Friday evenings we spend just out on the back patio talking and listening to music. Oh and when I say music it could literally be going from Roy Orbison to Lady Gaga and anything in between. Our Sunday evenings are spent laying in bed and watchings nature shows. I am pretty sure we have seen them all at least twice, but it’s our thing. When we do go out though it’s wonderful. We don’t have to be glued to each other the entire time. Like any couple we have our own little jokes and quirks about us and I love that.

So thank you for letting me focus a little on what is great right now in my life and not on this physical pain. Hopefully, it will have subsided a bit by tomorrow.

4 responses »

  1. Beside the current misfortune, I am so very happy for you and Pat. Isn’t love grand? Keep smiling when you can, and stay strong as I know you will. May you have a joyous wedding, and may all your dreams come true.
    Hines šŸ™‚

  2. First of all, I was watching the Golden Girls for the first time in ages last night, and was thinking about you the whole time šŸ™‚ I could almost hear you laughing…is that creepy? Maybe a little šŸ˜‰

    Secondly, I love the way you describe your relationship with Pat. Your evenings sound wonderful! So happy for you šŸ™‚ I can’t wait to see photos of your Thanksgiving wedding! You’ll be a stunning bride.
    xoxo

      • Awww, I wish! We’re leaving for our annual holiday traipse around the country on the 23rd though. Someday! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

